Madelyn Scott

Konrad Bailey

Michelle Lo

Connor Lane

Fountane Chan

Congratulations to the five outstanding undergraduate students who recently were awarded a Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF) in 2018! 

The SURF award provides five students with funding to conduct summer research under the supervision of a faculty mentor.

Madelyn Scott (Chemistry) is mentored by Professor Cathy Wong on a project titled, “Optimization of deposition techniques for film production and analysis”.

Konrad Bailey (Psychology) is mentored by Professor Santiago Jaramillo on a project titled, “Neural and behavioral assays for studying predictive coding in the mouse brain”.

Michelle Lo (Mathematics) is mentored by Professor Jennifer Ruef on a project titled, “Power dynamics in group settings of mathematics classrooms”.

Connor Lane (Biology) is mentored by Professor Matt Streisfeld on a project titled, “Parallel evolution of floral diversity in the bush monkeyflower”.

Fountane Chan (General Science) is mentored by Professor Diana Libuda on a project titled, “Deciphering the role of Argonaute protein, PRG-1, in spermatocyte specific, heat-stress induced DNA damage”.

Look forward to finding out more about these amazing projects when the students disseminate their findings in a poster presentation at the 2019 Undergraduate Research Symposium.

The applications for SURF awards will open in early 2019 and are due on March 8, 2019. 

For more information see the Awards & Funding page, send us an email to set up an appointment, or drop by during office hours in GSH 104 Monday through Thursday 4-6 PM.