finance your research

CURE awards competitive grants that fund travel to conferences for undergraduates who want to present their research findings.

Fellowships are also available to support students conducting summer research under the supervision of a faculty mentor.

Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF)

The Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF) fund up to five students per academic year to conduct summer research under the supervision of a faculty mentor (TTF or career NTTF). The maximum award amount is $4000 per individual. The minimum time period of research commitment is 8 weeks.

2018 Awards

Konrad Bailey ’20 | Psychology | Advisor: Professor Santiago Jaramillo
Neural and behavioral assays for studying predictive coding in the mouse brain”

Fountane Chan ‘19 | General Science | Advisor: Professor Diana Libuda
“Deciphering the role of Argonaute protein, PRG-1, in spermatocyte specific, heat-stress induced DNA damage”

Connor Lane ‘19 | Biology | Advisor: Professor Matt Streisfeld
“Parallel evolution of floral diversity in the bush monkeyflower”

Michelle Lo ‘19 | Mathematics | Advisor: Professor Jennifer Ruef
“Power dynamics in group settings of mathematics classrooms”

Madelyn Scott ‘19 | Chemistry |Advisor: Professor Cathy Wong
“Optimization of deposition techniques for film production and analysis”


Application will open in early 2019 and are due March 8, 2019

Michelle Lo

2018 Summer Undergraduate Research Fellow

Student Conference Travel Awards

CURE has funding resources to assist eligible students with up to $500 to attend a single conference or professional meeting to present scholarly and creative projects. Ten travel awards are given each year, five awards in Fall term (travel July 1st to December 31st) and five awards in Spring term (travel January 1st to June 30th).

Spring term applications will open soon

2018 Awards

Arunima Bhattacharjee ‘18 | National Conference on Undergraduate Research
Mariah Bloom ‘19 | American Association of Physical Anthropologists
Phoenix Booth ‘18 | Society of North American Goldsmiths
India Brock ‘19 | American Association of Physical Anthropologists
Courtney Daum ‘18 | International Conference of Infant Studies
Allison Dona ‘19 | American Association of Physical Anthropologists
Cassandra Dukes ‘18 | UCLA Psychology Undergraduate Research Conference
Caroline Fenty ‘19 | Sigma Tau Delta International
Peace Kontamnives ‘18 | American Physical Society Meeting
Mitra LeBuhn ‘18 | Human Development Conference
Eamonn Needham ’19 | American Geophysical Union
Nathaniel Sichter ’18 | UCLA Psychology Undergraduate Research Conference
Spencer Smith ‘19 | Northwest Biomechanics Symposium


Applications open in early January and are due Friday, March 15, 2019

Three awards will be designated for NCUR presentations

NCUR abstract deadline is December 4, 2018

Student Emergency Funding

CURE has funding resources to assist eligible students in emergencies, which are designed to help students participate in research and experiential learning opportunities. The funds are not intended to support ongoing or repeated expenses. The maximum funding amount is $500 per individual. Four awards are available during each academic year.

2018 Awards

Alexander Mentzel ’19 | German Literature and Culture & Theatre Arts
Madeline Rogers ‘18 | Psychology

2017 Awards

Sara Fatimah ’19 | Geography and International Studies
Momo Wilms-Crowe ’20 | International Studies and Political Science


Applications are accepted year-round

Momo Wilms-Crowe

2017 Award Recipient

Faculty Research Mentor Award

The Faculty Research Mentor Award is a $2500 one time award that recognizes a faculty member for their exceptional mentoring of undergraduate research and experiential learning. Winners will be recognized at the annual Undergraduate Research Symposium, held in Spring term.

2018 Awards

Judith Eisen, Professor in Biology, was awarded the CURE Faculty Research Mentor Award for her long history of exceptional mentoring of undergraduate students, innovative pedagogy, training of graduate students and postdocs to be effective mentors, and leadership in developing and running critical and successful programs such as the Science Literacy Program and SPUR/OURS.

The Chemical Synthesis Group a team composed of professors Michael Haley, David Johnson, Vickie DeRose, Michael Pluth, Ramesh Jasti, Darren Johnson, Ken Doxsee, and David Tyler was awarded the CURE Faculty Research Mentor Award for exceptional work with undergraduates over several decades. This group has mentored 499 researchers and this mentoring has led to 221 publications with undergraduates as co-authors. The team has had an incredible impact and has developed an impressive set of best practices for how to mentor students on research opportunities.

Samantha Hopkins, Associate Professor in Earth Sciences and Associate Dean of the Clark Honors College, was awarded the CURE Faculty Research Mentor Award for her exceptional undergraduate mentoring since she joined UO in 2007. Her moving nomination letter, written by 4 current undergraduates and an alumna, describes her has an exemplary mentor who has provided amazing opportunities to students to do meaningful research and who has helped students go on to distinguished PhD programs around the country. This award was co-sponsored by the Clark Honors College. 

Read more about the 2018 awards


Application will open in early 2019 and are due March 8, 2019 

Judith Eisen

2018 Faculty Mentor Award Recipient

looking for a research opportunity, internship or job?

Students can search and apply for research opportunities, jobs, and internships using DuckConnect, a career services management tool designed specifically for UO students.