supporting student research

How can you benefit by engaging undergraduate students in research?

Research mentors can change lives by providing opportunities for career development and giving students a window onto the power of research

Students can be critically important to faculty research success through the labor they provide and the perspectives they bring

Mentoring young scholars can be personally fulfilling, support professional development goals, and shape the next generation of scholars

Presentation of research by undergraduates can be particularly effective at reaching certain audiences


Incorporating undergraduates into research can be beneficial for grant proposal competitiveness

CURE works to promote initiatives that will encourage undergraduate participation in experiential opportunities. These types of high impact practices foster learning, strengthen students’ academic portfolios, and contribute to their professional development.

A primary goal for CURE is to serve as a campus hub to encourage scholarly pursuits in research and other innovative endeavors. In order to centralize postings for the entire campus and to simplify the student search process for these types of positions, CURE is partnering with the Career Center to post opportunities via the Handshake platform (formerly DuckConnect).

Please click on the icon to post your research position. For additional questions, please contact Lanch McCormick at

Faculty Research Mentor Award

The Faculty Research Mentor Award is a $2500 one time award that recognizes a faculty member for their exceptional mentoring of undergraduate research and experiential learning. Winners will be recognized at the annual Undergraduate Research Symposium, held in Spring term.

2019 Awards

Caitlin Fausey, Assistant Professor in Psychology and Director of the Learning Lab, was awarded the CURE Faculty Research Mentor Award for her commitment to undergraduate research mentoring, with multiple nominations from current and former students that describe a truly amazing ability and commitment to mentoring students. The students describe Dr. Fausey as inspiring them to be scientists and leaders, encouraging and supporting them to develop independent research projects, and being deeply committed to their professional development.


Chris Minson, Singer Professor of Human Physiology and Director of the Human Cardiovascular Control Lab, was awarded the CURE Faculty Research Mentor Award for his long-term commitment to undergraduate mentoring, which has spanned several decades. Nominated by both his department head, Dr. John Halliwill, undergraduate and graduate research assistants, notably his students describe Dr. Minson as inspiring them to become scientists, his creation of a supportive lab environment, and his dedication to helping students navigate the complex process of becoming involved in a research project.


Mark Carey, Professor of History and Environmental Studies at the Clark Honors College, as well as Director of The Glacier Lab and the Environmental Studies Program, was awarded the CURE Faculty Research Mentor Award for a long-term commitment to his students, having been awarded the Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award in 2015. He was nominated by undergraduate Mackenzie Myers as well as several graduate students. The committee was extremely impressed by his commitment to and excellence in undergraduate research mentoring, in particular how successful Dr. Carey has been at connecting undergraduate and graduate student researchers, how his passion for his work is contagious, and how his outstanding mentoring has helped his students successfully compete for prestigious national scholarships.  This award was co-sponsored by the Clark Honors College. 


Nominations for 2020 awards will open in early Fall 2019

If you have trouble accessing the application, try opening in Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

2018 Awards

Judith Eisen, Professor in Biology, was awarded the CURE Faculty Research Mentor Award for her long history of exceptional mentoring of undergraduate students, innovative pedagogy, training of graduate students and postdocs to be effective mentors, and leadership in developing and running critical and successful programs such as the Science Literacy Program and SPUR/OURS.

The Chemical Synthesis Group a team composed of professors Michael Haley, David Johnson, Vickie DeRose, Michael Pluth, Ramesh Jasti, Darren Johnson, Ken Doxsee, and David Tyler was awarded the CURE Faculty Research Mentor Award for exceptional work with undergraduates over several decades. This group has mentored 499 researchers and this mentoring has led to 221 publications with undergraduates as co-authors. The team has had an incredible impact and has developed an impressive set of best practices for how to mentor students on research opportunities.

Samantha Hopkins, Associate Professor in Earth Sciences and Associate Dean of the Clark Honors College, was awarded the CURE Faculty Research Mentor Award for her exceptional undergraduate mentoring since she joined UO in 2007. Her moving nomination letter, written by 4 current undergraduates and an alumna, describes her has an exemplary mentor who has provided amazing opportunities to students to do meaningful research and who has helped students go on to distinguished PhD programs around the country. This award was co-sponsored by the Clark Honors College. 

Read more about the 2018 awards

Judith Eisen

2018 Faculty Mentor Award Recipient